Quick overview of positions

(For a full list, use the links in the column on the right.)

Professorial positions

  • Professor of Political Theory, Radboud University Nijmegen, the Netherlands
  • Head of the Department of Public Administration & Political Science, ibid. (2010-2019)
  • Visiting Professor, Keele University, Keele, Staffordshire, England
  • Member of the Board (2005-2011) and Acting President (2010-2011), Dutch Political Science Association
  • Head of the Department of Political Science, Radboud University (2021-)

Committee memberships

  • Member of the board (2010-2018, 2019-2021), Treasurer (2014-2018, 2019-2020), Humanist Foundation Socrates
  • Member of the Committee for a National Audit (Pilot) Basic Teaching Qualifition in Academia
  • Member of the Board of Trustees of the Telders Foundation (TeldersStichting)
  • Member, Supervisory Boards of three Socrates professorships: Philosophy of Sustainable Development from a humanist perspective (Faculty of Humanities and Sciences, Maastricht University) (2015-21); Economics and Finance from a Humanist Perspective (University of Groningen) (2018-2020); Humanism, Europe and Global Justice (Radboud University) (2021-22)

Research schools

  • OZSE (Research School for Applied Ethics), now OZSW (Research School for Philosophy)
  • NIG (Netherlands Institute of Government)

At Radboud University

  • Chair, Science Advisory Committee, Faculty of Management Sciences (2009-2011)
  • Member (2006-2015) and Chair (2008-2011, 2015), Board of Examiners, Department of Political Science
  • Member, Assessment Committee on Basic and Advanced Teaching Qualifications, Faculty of Management Sciences (2005-present)
  • Acting Program Manager, DisCon research programme in economics, political science and public administration (2011)
  • Member, First Year Mandatory Study Advice Committee (Dutch: BSA), Faculty of Management Sciences (2016-present)

Editorial boards

  • Co-editor, book series ‘Nature, Culture and Literature’, published by Rodopi
  • Member, Editorial Board of Environmental Politics (2005-2016)
  • Member, Editorial Board of Intergenerational Justice Review (2009-)
  • Member, Editoral Board of Res Publica: A Journal of Moral, Legal and Social Philosophy (2010-)
  • Member, Editorial Board of Liberaal Reveil, renamed 2017: Liberale Reflecties (2011-); chair (2015-)
  • Member, Editorial Board of Politics and Animals (2015-)